FItness · Pregnancy

First Post and a Crossfit Pregnancy- Open Style!

17-1-preggers-db-snatchJust getting in from the 1st Crossfit Open workout of 2017 and thought this is a great time to launch the first post on the blog! Before I get into the workout, and what I’ve been doing with Crossfit while pregnant, I’ll tell you a little about myself and why I decided to start the blog.  I’m 31 and live in the foothills of Colorado (originally from the East Coast) with my superhero of a husband and 2 rescue dogs.  We’re expecting a baby girl in June which is kind of what stirred my urge to start writing because that right there is a whole new whirlwind.  For 5 years now, I’ve been doing Crossfit, first in Denver, and now “up the hill” in Evergreen, CO. Professionally, I left my corporate job back in Sept and have been doing a mixture of part time jobs, including a failed start up, since.  I’ll go into that decision making process in a later post that also ties in with pregnancy…

So, there you have it. On paper, I’m pretty normal, BUT my friends (and husband) say I’ve got some weird quirks and I have found my mind is constantly thinking of business ideas, crafts, future babies, ways to be frugal, & workouts, so decided it was time to see if anyone cared to read about it, and if not, well at least I have this for myself! My hope is that through this, I will provide a place for others to find value in what I’m saying and possibly relate.

Alright, since I’m in gym mode, I’m going to take the opportunity with this first post to talk about what I’ve been doing with working out and being pregnant.  Quick disclaimer: I am not a doctor and do not claim any of this as proven medical information. I’m simply sharing my experiences and the routes I’ve taken, so please take from it what you feel is valuable while always communicating with your doctor and doing what feels right for you.

I am Crossfit Level 1 certified, and as I said, have been participating in workouts 4-5 days/week for about 5 years now.  I’m not a paleo freak though have done strict paleo and the Whole 30 twice.  But, I currently live my life in a manner where I try to eat healthy most of the time, and indulge at other times.  Hence, why I don’t look “jacked” despite the amount I workout- the way my body responds I have to get REALLY strict to see a lot of muscle tone. Check out my wedding pic below to see the last time I did this in 2014.  Currently, I know I am healthy and strong especially with the little one growing inside, and that is what matters to me….at least until bathing suit season.

bush_286

Last time I was toned in 2014

Crossfit while Pregnant: Like most “first timers” I googled the crap out of what I can and cannot do and it all pretty much came down to the same thing.  Do what feels right for your body. Crossfit HQ actually came out with a recent article here.  Also Inside the affiliate has some good insight. One thing I see a lot of: “hold a conversational pace.” This statement doesn’t make sense to me, and I have not adhered to it.  If I am doing anything more than a slow paced jog, my ass is not chatting with anyone… Plus, Crossfit is very centered around HIIT movements.  So, while I maybe don’t fall to the floor after every workout (though it has happened a few times during this) I do certainly push myself to work out and breathe heavy.  You know why?  My body feels good doing it, and it gets my blood pumping.  Again, pay attention to how YOU feel.  I’ll post some future modification moves and also have videos on my insta account, @lifesaidso.

1st Trimester (sick and struggling to get there 3x/week): Pretty much all the same.  I did stop going upside down (HSPUs).  Lots of women still do these, but I read somewhere not to and for some reason that one stuck with me and I just decided that for me, I wouldn’t. DUs: Same, Lifts: Only lightened up on front squats because I was having some back pain. Box Jumps: Same.  Bar Muscle Ups: Same. Toes2Bar: Same.  I’m trying to think of other “questionable” moves but really not much changed except feeling like I had a permanent hangover without the benefits of drinking…

2nd Trimester: Burpees: started jumping back and getting to my knees and doing a half push up or just did burpee jump backs without going to the floor.  Pushups: Same with weights under my hands OR on a box/bench.  Pull Ups: Same- kipping and practicing strict with and extra 13 lbs… Box Jumps: Doing step ups with 7.5 or 10 lb dumbbells. I’ve fallen off the box before and based on where I landed and had a bruise, I decided it was time to stop risking it, and with the DB’s, its still quite challenging. Running, yes. Rowing- can’t go as far forward. Another common theme: “Don’t lay on your back” for bench press.  I still do bench, and just stop if i start to feel uncomfortable.  Your body will let you know, and you will adjust.  Its not like you’re going to be laying down for hours. Lifts- I can still clean and do all of that just fine.

3rd Trimester: I am just ending my 2nd trimester,  so I will update this as I go along, but I imagine based on growing size, I will modify more more severely to what I am doing now.  DU’s are already starting to get uncomfortable, certainly push ups on a bench, not heavy front squats because of the pressure I feel when squatting too low with heavy weight, and really just doing what I can at at larger size and trying to stay consistent in working out so bouncing back isn’t a horrible struggle. I’m sure adjusting for cleans and other lifts will be necessary, and you can do modifications for those with dumbbells.

Crossfit 17.1 Open Workout: 23 Weeks Pregnant
For time (20 min cap)
10 dumbbell snatches
15 burpee box jump-overs
20 dumbbell snatches
15 burpee box jump-overs
30 dumbbell snatches
15 burpee box jump-overs
40 dumbbell snatches
15 burpee box jump-overs
50 dumbbell snatches
15 burpee box jump-overs

Men use 50-lb. dumbbell and 24-in. box, women 35# dumbbells and 20in box.

I actually did not sign up for the Open for the first time in 3 years since I’m pregnant and will surely be limited to performing a move at RX (like burpees here), but I am certainly doing the workouts as I can and following along. I chose to do this one scaled which was 20lb dumbbells and step ups, along with my “half push up” burpees. I got 18:35 ,and there is some video on the insta acct. I can’t imagine the power houses of women who did it ~11min. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

